MyModelTalk Free Casting Calls for Models and Actors!
 

sponser links
Automatic Translations (Powered by Microsoft and Powered by Google and Apertium
Afrikaans Albanian Arabic Belarusian Bulgarian Catalan Chinese Croatian Czech Danish Dutch English Estonian Filipino Finnish French Galician German Greek Haitian Creole Hebrew Hindi Hungarian Icelandic Indonesian Irish Italian Japanese Korean Latvian Lithuanian Macedonian Malay Maltese Norwegian Persian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Serbian Slovak Slovenian Spanish Swahili Swedish Taiwanese Thai Turkish Ukrainian Urdu (NOT SUPPORTED YET) Vietnamese Welsh Yiddish
Go Back   MyModelTalk Free Casting Calls for Models and Actors! > Model Talk > Watch List

Share This Forum!  
 
 
        
  

Watch List This is a place to talk about any concerns or ask questions about others in the industry. It's also good place to expose 'legal' yet disturbing business practices or just inquire about other businesses or people in the Industry.

Donation Goal
Goal amount for this month: 350 USD, Received: 0 USD (0%)
Donate Now
MMT is free for you to use. We don't charge you for our services but we accept tips! If you appreciate the casting calls please donate $2 or more so we can improve the site quicker. If you don't have it...don't worry :) Hopefully we'll help you get some gigs and one day you can.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2007, 03:02 PM   #1
Is Style Entertainment a Scam
AtlantaFashionweek AtlantaFashionweek is offline 07-13-2007, 03:02 PM
Rating: (1 votes - 3.00 average)

Hello,

I was wonderig if Style Entertainment was scam because they want me to pay $750 for a portfolio. I know I heard a million times that you are not suppose to pay for anything when you join an agency. I would like to know before I go any further with them.

 
AtlantaFashionweek's Avatar
AtlantaFashionweek
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 29
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Views: 7494
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-13-2007, 03:57 PM   #2
 
Britwoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 31
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Britwoman is infamous around these parts
Lightbulb Your Inquiry:

I would highly recommend looking into the company that you are inquiring about. Companies or agencies should NEVER charge you any fees to audition (and I'm pretty sure that they shouldn't be charging you for your portfolio either), but you will want to visit their website (always be aware of any company that does not have a website), or you may go to Hoover's.com to view a full company report. Legitimate agencies should not be "soliciting" meaning that they are REQUESTING money instead of offering money to the talent that applies for their jobs, and is I believe also illegal.
Britwoman is offline   Reply With Quote

sponser links
Old 07-13-2007, 04:15 PM   #3
Administrator
 
Mike McKoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, Georgia United States
Age: 36
Posts: 3,656
Thanks: 112
Thanked 54 Times in 47 Posts
Rep Power: 10
Mike McKoy is on a distinguished road
Default

Does Style Entertainment have a website? What email address did they use to contact you or how did you find them?
Mike McKoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 12:30 PM   #4
 
AtlantaFashionweek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Age: 29
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
AtlantaFashionweek is infamous around these parts
Default

Hello, I am so glad you responded because I do not know what to do. I was browsing the internet one day and I found their website and I seen they were having an open call. I drove down there to attend and they sent me a letter in the mail stating they wanted to work with me but I need to sign a contract and pay for the portfolio that is 750. They do have 2 websites a myspace page and a regular one. Their regular page hasn't been updated in about a year and that is www.styleentertainmentco.com/home.html and their myspace page is www.myspace.com/mike_styles. I went on Hoover's.com but for me to get a report on them I have to subscribe is there anyway I can get a free report on them?
AtlantaFashionweek is offline   Reply With Quote

sponser links
Old 07-14-2007, 02:32 PM   #5
Administrator
 
Mike McKoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Atlanta, Georgia United States
Age: 36
Posts: 3,656
Thanks: 112
Thanked 54 Times in 47 Posts
Rep Power: 10
Mike McKoy is on a distinguished road
Default Your a Model Paying to find Work? Why You Shouldn't Pay an Agent to sign you...

Honestly I feel like you could get a highly professional photoshoot on your own for $750.00 with most photographers and local make up artists of your choice.

I can understand if the agency did things such as charge you for extra prints (ZED Cards, Comp Cards, buisness cards, etc...) to keep on your person. But I can't understand signing models to contracts in mass and telling them that they need a pay for a photoshoot with them to begin working together. That's just not how the fashion industry or any other section of the modeling buisness works. Plus many of these kinds og "agencies" offer unrealistic promises or oppurtunities to talent.

Alpha Model Group and Wilhelmina Scouting Network are good examples of companies that took advantage of talented and untalented models by charging them for photoshoots and producing very little.

I can't say that the company your dealing with is a scam but I do believe you can invest in yourself in much easier ways. many models are signed with more then one Agency. That wouldn't be possible if agencies charged new talent. Who could afford it?

Here are a few more links in the MMT Scams section you may want to look at:

NEVER PAY TO BE LISTED ON A SITE OR FOR CASTING CALL NOTICES

The Bogus Agency Scam: By NewModels.com

Alpha Model Group is a Scam!

Wilhelmina Scouting Network (Formerly TCT Talent)
Mike McKoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
entertainment, scam, style

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another cunning scam- Silver Pattern Entertainment Co. Erica R Scams! 8 04-02-2007 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Translated to other languages supported by vBET Translator 3.6.3
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
© 2005-2012 , MyModelTalk.com. All rights reserved


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167